I had an interesting image enter my mind out of no where last night. I was laying in bed and all of a sudden, I saw a tall, beautiful tree with many full branches hanging sturdily at its side. The tree was enclosed in a glass case that was trimmed with gold and there were people  in the glass case looking up and admiring this tree. The tree was not by itself but was one of many in a forest, but it was the only one enclosed in this glass case (though its roots remained in the ground).  After this image went away I just thought to myself, “what was that all about? How random! Why would a tree be in a glass encasement? If Joseph or Daniel of Old Testament fame, the great interpreters of dreams, were here today I would definitely bring this one before them 🙂

I did not think much more of it till my husband texted me at work today and said the following, “Random question. Have you had any visions or day dreams today?” Let me start of by saying that this is not a regular occurance with my husband and I. I do not usually get random images in my head and my husband has never before asked if I have had any. To have him ask me this today, when I had not told him or any one of my experience the night prior, made me think twice about it.

I hate to leave you in suspense but I have no idea what it means. Both my husband and I have thrown different ideas out there, but we just don’t know. Does it even mean anything? We will see. What this whole situation has gotten me to think about though is something that I know is true, God desires to speak to us. He speaks to us through His Word (the Bible). He speaks to us by His Spirit, which never contradicts His Word. We also have a very loud world speaking to us, saying: “Buy this, taste this, experiment with this, make more money, move onto something/someone new, do whatever feels good, watch this, spend your time and money on this, etc.” We are inundated with so many messages it is absolutely exhausting. My question is, what are we truly listening to?

I was all of a sudden reminded of this verse in Colossians: “If then you have been raised with Christ, seek the things that are above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God.  Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth. For you have died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God” (3:1-3). This verse is not telling us that we can not think about our life on earth at all, that would be impossible and unwise. The difference here is regarding where we set our mind. What consumes us most? Most of our thoughts, words, and actions, do they point to earthly things or to things that regard Christ. Earthly things are not simply things that are on earth, we are on earth but are not to be worldly. Heavenly things are not simply things that are “in” heaven, for the Spirit of the Living God also resides in us who live on earth. It is truly my prayer that we, as Christians, would live our lives in such a way that we esteem heavenly things so greatly that our earthly life becomes a beacon of light to those around us here.

My encouragement to us all today: choose what is good over what is fine/acceptable, or even better, choose what is best over what is good. I know God will show you what that is for you. Seek first His kingdom and His righteousness (Matthew 6:33). For when we do these things we are being intentional about listening to the voice/messages (God’s) that we most need to hear, and shutting out the ones that ultimately will only confuse and distract us at best or destroy us at worst.

Praise the Lord, for He is good, His love endures forever!

2 thoughts on “God Speaks

  1. I wouldn’t claim the gift of dream interpretation but consider this … the righteous man is described as a tree in Psalm 1. I’ve always found that if you’re unsure about something, go to the word.

  2. Thank you for sharing this reminder to focus on heavenly, eternal things. That verse in Colossians is actually one of the core verses that our home church always comes back to. Our pastor/teacher refers to it as the starting point that we need before we go any further. Too often we live with an earthly point of view, even as Christians, thinking of heaven and eternal things from down here. We need to step into heaven and view earth, and our lives, from that perspective, as God sees it. Once we have that perspective we can then start studying the Bible in the proper way, or love our neighbor, or do work, and we will do those things with the proper motive and our character will grow in the image of Christ. As much as I know that intellectually it can still be a challenge to live that way. Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

