Rebulican National Convention. Democratic National Convention. Romey/Paul vs. Obama/Biden. Promises. Insults. Criticisms. Optimism. Finger pointing. Self-praising. Campaigning. Leadership?

I do plan on voting and playing my part. Honestly, I am not extremely supportive of either candidate, as opposed to strongly advocating for one of the two, but I will place my vote nonetheless. My point here is not a political one, at least not in the terms of republican vs. democrat. My point is about true leadership and true sovereignty, and that being where I truly put my trust and cast my vote. I place my full conficence in Jesus Christ,  in His leadership, in His promises, in His wisdom, and in His plan. Presidents come and go. Many have made both poor and wise decisions; many have both made and broken promises. Some were great presidents but poor husbands or vice versa. We are  undoubtedly called by God to pray for our leaders, we are also called to trust in God and His ultimate leadership. We are not fools to put our trust in an almighty and sovereign God, more so than in the abilities of men. For God is not merely a “crutch for the weak'” as so many have put it, He is the only solid ground on which any person can stand.

Webster’s defines ‘fool’ as “a silly or stupid person; a person who lacks judgment or sense” (http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/fool?s=t). Those who would call us (Christians) fools say we are so because we believe in something that we can not see; they would say we live our lives according to a book that is flawed and outdated and merely written by men. If I could accomplish only one thing in my life I pray it could be the ability to help people see the actuality of God, and live accordingly. Though we cannot see Him, we can see the effects of His being – His creation, His provision, His hand upon peoples lives, His wisdom and limitlessness vs. our limited understanding and limited resources. I can see Him more than I can see the computer screen in front of me right now. Yes, there are despicable evils that occur everyday; there is much oppression, injustice, and pain. As a human I do wrestle with why God allows the evils of this world to persist. But I am reminded in His Word that He hates evil even more than I do, and that He is and He will punish and destroy it.  The presence of evil does not make those who believe in a good God foolish. I have seen God most in the midst of the injustices and  pain in my life, as well as in the joys and triumphs.

As far as the Bible being a “flawed and outdated book merely written by men,” I do not have time to go into the many reasons why I know the Bible is truly the Word of God and not man. For the sake of brevity I will instead share a scripture that confirms for me everyday the power of the Word of God, simultaneously validating it’s claims with my experience:

“For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and spirit, of joints and marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart. And no creature is hidden from His sight, but all are naked and exposed to the eyes of Him to whom we must give account” (Hebrews 4:12-13).

“You never change, you’re still the same, you are the everlasting God. You will remain after the day is gone and things of earth have passed. Everlasting God” (lyrics from Everlasting God). This is why we are not fools – we put our hope in the everlasting God instead of that which is fleeting. In the midst of indecision, wars, promises made and broken, tropical storms, and greed, we can still find peace knowing that our God reigns. My fellow believers, remember Jesus’s words to Martha, “Did I not tell you that if you believed you would see the glory of God?” (John 11:40). To those who think us fools, I urge you to also consider God’s words, “The fool says in his heart, ‘There is no God'” (Psalm 14:1). What I care more about than whether or not you think us fools, is that you not be one yourself.

“He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain that which he cannot lose” (Jim Elliot).

Leave a Reply

