Hi friends!

Finally…I am actually writing my first post! This has been on my heart for quite while, but I guess intimidation kept my fingers from the keys. I journal all the time, but blogging, well, that is a whole new world.

As I am sure you noticed, the title of the blog is “As I Follow,” inspired by Paul’s words in 1 Corinthians 11:1, “Follow my example as I follow the example of Christ” (NIV). I do not say this as boldly as Paul, for I know I do not exemplify Christ as Paul did. My intention in using this concept of “following” is to invite you to walk beside me as I walk with Christ – as I share with you what He is teaching me about Himself, life, relationships, healing, fear, doubt, etc – in the hope that somehow you can walk away encouraged, hopeful, convicted, inspired, knowing that you are not alone. Plus there is the added bonus of the inevitable opportunities I will provide for you to laugh…probably more at me than with me 🙂

Jesus knew we would need each other; He wants us to walk this road together:

And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging on another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near. Hebrews 10:24-25 (ESV)

Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ. Galatians 6:2 (ESV)

Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their labor: If either of them falls down, one can help the other up. But pity anyone who falls and has no one to help them up. Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm. But how can one keep warm alone? Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken. Ecclesiates 4:9-12 (ESV)

So, this blog exists for the purpose of sharing my walk with Christ with you, in hopes of us sharing all of our walks with Christ with each other, that we may be built up, encouraged, and grow as the body of Christ. And, if you are not a follower of Christ, this will give you a glimpse of what it looks like for imperfect people to follow a perfect God.

With all my heart,

Cari

One thought on “To Blog or Not to Blog

Leave a Reply

